Stmarie’s Weblog

2012 Election Information

Barack Obama and Abraham Lincoln October 23, 2008

This was an E-mail that a friend sent to me.

“One of the speeches that made me a Reagan Republican  was not what Reagan said, but who he quoted, Abraham  Lincoln.

When I received the reminder below from my friend, it took me back to my core belief. McCain is not my all time  favorite, but I know there are many reasons that I don’t support O’Bama.

Read what Lincoln said:

You cannot help  the poor by destroying the rich.

You cannot  strengthen the weak by weakening the strong.

You cannot bring  about prosperity by discouraging thrift.

You cannot lift  the wage earner up by pulling the wage payer down.

You cannot  further the brotherhood of man by inciting class hatred.

You cannot build  character and courage by taking away men’s initiative and  independence.

You cannot help men permanently by doing for them,  what they could and should do for themselves.

Abraham  Lincoln


The redistribution of wealth that Obama endorses is a formula for failure.

Remember Jesus said; “Give a man a fish and he will  eat for a day, teach him to fish and he will eat for a  lifetime”

Should Obama win, and it looks like he will, I will have Lincoln’s quote hanging in all three of my offices reminding me of what should  be the core belief in America.  America must ask the following questions: Does Wall Street need correction? Sure, but let’s not throw out the baby with the bathwater.  Did housing overbuild?  Yes, sometimes even the free market makes a mistake and has to correct itself. Is it easy?  No.

Our free enterprise system may not be perfect, but it is  the best.  I asked myself this question;  At my age, am I better off  than my parents were at this age and were they better off than their parents  at this age and the answer is yes!
Wealth redistribution, hand outs and  tearing down the wealthy and business is not the answer.

The last government incentive program of $600 per person did little. So now they  want to do it again.  Who pays for that?  We do.

The media, for whatever  purpose, has propagated fear and unrest, and when Obama is elected they will  stop with fear and begin with messages of hope and how all areas of the economy are improving.  If we are smart, we will ride the train upwards  in the market and be aware that an oversized government and outrageous welfare  programs will cause a shift back to moderation.  Halfway through the term  we will be pulling out of the markets.  If we are smart, we will play the  political swings just as one plays the markets in normal  conditions.”

Bob Barr For President. 2008

I voted. Did you?

ST

 

One Response to “Barack Obama and Abraham Lincoln”

  1. James Hanus Says:

    Another Good post, I will bookmark this post in my Diigo account. Have a awesome day.


Leave a Reply

